Summary of standards to be assessed

The Approved Provider Scheme is based on a set of standards that encompass the six themes highlighted below.

Headway is managing this project with the experience of the Service User and their family / carer as its main priority. The standards selected for evaluation within each of the above domains thus reflect the need for primary and fundamental care / choice and dignity issues being central to the care provided.


  • AP1: Staff, Service Users and Carers Involvement
  • AP2: Communicative Environment
  • AP3: Shared decision making
  • AP4: Communication Aids to Include: Tools / Charts / Electronic Aids
  • AP5: Involvement with External Organisations


  • AP6: Philosophy
  • AP7: Spiritual, Social and Sexual attention
  • AP8: Re-enablement approach
  • AP9: Engagement with families / external agencies / local communities
  • AP10: Unit's Culture
  • AP11: Mental Capacity Act (MCA) / Deprivation of Liberty (DOL) or Equivalent


  • AP12: Outcome Monitoring
  • AP13: Induction / Evaluation / Feedback
  • AP14: Training
  • AP15: Research/Evidence Based Practice


  • AP16: Person Centred Care / Privacy and Dignity
  • AP17: Evidence of Specialist Provision for Client Group
  • AP18: Appropriate Management / Staffing
  • AP19: Philosophy and Staff Awareness


  • AP20: Quality Assurance Tool, Audit and Evaluation
  • AP21: Documentation
  • AP22: Meaningful Activities
  • AP23: Clinical / Medical Needs
  • AP24: Nutrition (Range / Environment / Specific Service User Needs)

Environment: Psychological / Emotional

  • AP25: Relaxation / Recreation
  • AP26: Psychological / Emotional Needs
  • AP27: Privacy and Dignity
  • AP28: Safeguarding

Environment: Physical

  • AP29: Buildings
  • AP30: Policies and Procedures
  • AP31: Health and Safety
  • AP32: Challenging Behaviour
  • AP33: Appropriate provision for Service Users, family / carers and visitors